PDA

View Full Version : how to buy surfboard?

sandsurfngbomber
09-11-2008, 02:51 PM
i need to buy two surfboards within the next week

here is why:
i visit some kids at a hospital nearby, i was watching tv with Terry Anderon (10 year old boy i've been visiting for a couple years now) and they showed a clip of a surfer and Terry looks at me and says "raza, do you have a surfboard?" i said "no...why?" - "i want to go surfing" - "dude, we cant really surf on our side of lake michigan...(and explained him why)"...so he says "well i dont care about going through waves (i believe he meant barreling through one)...i just want to go out on one and stand up on it"

so now i m determined to buy that kid a surfboard and take him out on the lake, i took him skimboarding a couple times but since he's hospitalized and kinda weak he doesnt really like the whole concept of running, dropping and then jumping on it (i think thats why he doesnt it like it)...
he really isnt expecting much, i can tell, i think he just likes the concept of being out on the ocean/lake on a board, paddeling out there and back. i told him about bodyboarding but he has his heart set on surfing, i think its because of that movie surf's up...

but i dont know crap about surfboards so i need your help to figure out what the hell i need to get...
Terry - about 4' 7-8" and i believe a little under 100lbs
Me - about 5' 7-8'' and about 140lbs

what kind of board do you recommend (type, brand, size, whatever)?

p.s. there will be a boat by us just to make sure if anything happens...could the boat whip up some little waves that we could bump out boards on??

CustomKO
09-11-2008, 02:52 PM
pay with money

chemkexx
09-11-2008, 02:55 PM
consider renting

sandsurfngbomber
09-11-2008, 02:56 PM
pay with money

...i plan on doing so

Chrith
09-11-2008, 02:57 PM
credit or debit

sandsurfngbomber
09-11-2008, 02:59 PM
consider renting

nah, i m sure he would like to keep the his board