PDA

View Full Version : New computer



megadeth
06-18-2008, 01:15 PM
I am going to be using this computer to record a lot of my music. Do you think this one is any good? I know it has the quad core, but only 1 gb of RAM..... kinda weak....http://www.dell.com/content/products/productdetails.aspx/inspndt_530?c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&~oid=us~en~29~inspndt_530_anav4~~vDGrzspB&m_1=SMQ66H&mo=1~SMQ66H

DrD
06-18-2008, 01:15 PM
A gig of ram is only like 10 bucks.

megadeth
06-18-2008, 01:18 PM
well, wil it support more. that is what I shouldve asked. I can't find whow much it does....

Khoi
06-18-2008, 01:18 PM
Dells are great computers. Getting extra RAM is not hard either, I believe it supports up to 4 gigs, and no, 1 gig isn't $10. If it is, you'd better tell me where you are buying your RAM :P

Are you planning on upgrading the sound card for recording etc.?

CaboWabo
06-18-2008, 01:19 PM
It's good if you like poop.


Seriously though...I have no clue, but integrated audio would seem to be a set back unless you plan on getting a sound card. 1 gig of ram is pretty weak sauce, but it is DDR2 so it will be a hell of a lot faster than my 1gig of PC3200 I'm running on this thing.

I have no clue how good the processor is...but just b/c it's quad core doesn't mean it's kick ass, it could be the cheapest model, either way...if you're not gaming or doing something that require a lot of processing power then it won't matter any ways...it will be plenty fast enough.


EDIT: 1gig of DDR2 isn't 10 bucks any where.

DrD
06-18-2008, 01:22 PM
Dells are great computers. Getting extra RAM is not hard either, I believe it supports up to 4 gigs, and no, 1 gig isn't $10. If it is, you'd better tell me where you are buying your RAM :P

Are you planning on upgrading the sound card for recording etc.?

Computer guy who gets deals haha. Normally like 20 on newegg and 60-80 at Best Buy.

megadeth
06-18-2008, 01:22 PM
I have a sound card that I used for2 months in my old PC. its teh emu 0404 and it uses one of teh pci slots... so I'd be good to go.

Khoi
06-18-2008, 01:24 PM
I have a sound card that I used for2 months in my old PC. its teh emu 0404 and it uses one of teh pci slots... so I'd be good to go.


make sure it's a PCI-E card

megadeth
06-18-2008, 01:27 PM
wtf is the difference?


edit: will this work? http://www.zzounds.com/item--EMU8803

DrD
06-18-2008, 01:28 PM
wtf is the difference?


edit: will this work? http://www.zzounds.com/item--EMU8803

Not real sure haha, might not fit if its a PCI or something.

DT
06-18-2008, 01:29 PM
I'd definitely get 2GB RAM bare minimum - the integrated sound looks pretty decent, but I'd spend that $60 and get the better nVidia or ATI video card.

That quadcore is pretty stout, but the threading model in XP doesn't support the multi-cores that optimally (decent, but not great).

megadeth
06-18-2008, 01:40 PM
should I get vista instead of xp then?

Conrad923
06-18-2008, 01:44 PM
buy a mac

megadeth
06-18-2008, 01:45 PM
if i had the money I would buy a mac

Khoi
06-18-2008, 01:48 PM
should I get vista instead of xp then?


NOOO!! DON'T DOO ITTT!!!!

and no, that sound card isn't gonna fit. You gotta buy a PCI-E one. They are faster and are smaller.

Definitely invest in more RAM and a better sound card though. The integrated soundcards are no bueno, especially for recording. They don't even support 1/4'' cables.

megadeth
06-18-2008, 01:50 PM
fuck. all that money wasted. o well. I suppose I'll sell it on ebay.

GnipGnop
06-18-2008, 01:51 PM
Fill your computer to the brim with ram if you are recording. Which programs are you using?

Also, why does he need a better video card if he is using the computer for audio recording?

megadeth
06-18-2008, 01:56 PM
I think he just meant to just have a better graphics card, not for recoridng.

I am going to be using ableton for now... But I don't know what interface to get now. If I should go with usb or pci-e

GnipGnop
06-18-2008, 01:57 PM
I can't back this up, but I think PCI-E is better.

DT
06-18-2008, 02:06 PM
fuck. all that money wasted. o well. I suppose I'll sell it on ebay.

No you're fine. I'd just add another GB of RAM - try the integrated audio - if you start using it for gaming, you can always add a better graphics card (and disable the onboard).

Yeah, my graphics card comment was for the minor price, those other two options were a bit faster, but it won't effect your intended use.

PCI-E is better for subsystems that have massive bus contention (i.e., video), but I'm not sure they're at all needed for audio. PCI-E has a dedicated serial interface to the RAM/CPU subsystem vs. PCI being a non-dedicated bus which means it goes through slower buffers, shares cycles with other PCI devices and whatnot.

megadeth
06-18-2008, 02:08 PM
so will it work or not/ You got me all confused. haha

DT
06-18-2008, 03:40 PM
so will it work or not/ You got me all confused. haha

I confuse everybody. You should be good-to-go, but I'd think about an extra 1GB of RAM.

DjMattyD
06-18-2008, 03:54 PM
I am going to be using this computer to record a lot of my music. Do you think this one is any good? I know it has the quad core, but only 1 gb of RAM..... kinda weak....http://www.dell.com/content/products/productdetails.aspx/inspndt_530?c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&~oid=us~en~29~inspndt_530_anav4~~vDGrzspB&m_1=SMQ66H&mo=1~SMQ66H
http://threeminds.organic.com/images/2007/12/Steve_Dell_Ad.jpg

megadeth
06-18-2008, 04:22 PM
I confuse everybody. You should be good-to-go, but I'd think about an extra 1GB of RAM.
haha thank you so much. :cool: but I was thinking about getting 2 more gigs... which obviously can't hurt. haha

hobo
06-18-2008, 05:32 PM
Why would you buy a PCIE SOUND CARD?

PCI-E is ment for graphics card.....so if he uses his sound card in the PCIe his gfx will be shitty

megadeth
06-18-2008, 05:34 PM
thank you hobo.

Khoi
06-18-2008, 05:39 PM
Why would you buy a PCIE SOUND CARD?

PCI-E is ment for graphics card.....so if he uses his sound card in the PCIe his gfx will be shitty


Computers have more than one PCI-E slots ya know... And if he chooses to upgrade his computer in the customize part of Dell, it will most likely go in the AGP slot, and he will have 2+ PCI-E slots open. I don't see a problem with that.

ZapBulletRider
06-18-2008, 05:40 PM
A gig of ram is only like 10 bucks.

this is fucking bullshit, do not listen to this cuntrag. If there's anywhere in a computer where you DON'T want to skimp and get the value, no-name brand shit, it's memory. ESPECIALLY when you're dealing with memory-intensive stuff like filtering sounds, mixing multiple tracks, etc... and where the fuck can you even get a gig of memory for 10 bucks?

ZapBulletRider
06-18-2008, 05:41 PM
PCI-E is better for subsystems that have massive bus contention (i.e., video), but I'm not sure they're at all needed for audio. PCI-E has a dedicated serial interface to the RAM/CPU subsystem vs. PCI being a non-dedicated bus which means it goes through slower buffers, shares cycles with other PCI devices and whatnot.

haha you did that on purpose... dick :) <3

hobo
06-18-2008, 05:46 PM
Computers have more than one PCI-E slots ya know... And if he chooses to upgrade his computer in the customize part of Dell, it will most likely go in the AGP slot, and he will have 2+ PCI-E slots open. I don't see a problem with that.
your fucking dumb

The computer does not have any AGP slots period. that shits old

This computer is not SLi/Crossfire, that means it has only 1 PCI-E(xpress) slot. Like most normal non high end motherboard

Most motherboards have 3 PCI slots, and 1 PCI-E....and 1 PCI-E1X or some shit

Khoi
06-18-2008, 05:48 PM
your fucking dumb

The computer does not have any AGP slots period. that shits old

This computer is not SLi/Crossfire, that means it has only 1 PCI-E(xpress) slot. Like most normal non high end motherboard

Most motherboards have 3 PCI slots, and 1 PCI-E....and 1 PCI-E1X or some shit

Didn't check the specs of his specific computer, may bad. I was wondering what you were going on. I assumed that his Dell he wants has no PCI slots, when in fact it does.

So yeah you can use your old soundcard Megadeth in the PCI slot.

hobo
06-18-2008, 05:49 PM
your graphics and sound card go in the same type of slot?


Expansion Slots
PCI: 2 Slots
PCIe x1: 1 Slot
PCIe x16 (Graphics): 1 Slots
http://www.dell.com/content/products/productdetails.aspx/inspndt_530?c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&~oid=us~en~29~inspndt_530_anav4~~vDGrzspB&m_1=SMQ66H&mo=1~SMQ66H

ZapBulletRider
06-18-2008, 05:59 PM
The computer does not have any AGP slots period. that shits old


them shits is old, you gotta get some chukkas, fucka

ledhed
06-19-2008, 12:35 AM
I'd personally get the least amount of RAM available and upgrade myself. It'll be cheaper and with that CPU you'd probably want 800mhz Ram instead of 667. You can get a good brand good specs (nothing fantastic) 4GB RAM for around $80.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231111