Sam Stinnett wins the Vic

Sam Stinnett successfully defended his title at the Aliso contest this Sunday making him only the only person besides Bill Bryan to win the event twice in at least the past 20 years.

But it was not an easy fight.

Sam took the top spot by the slimmest of margins with only 1.5 pts separating himself, Morgan Just in second and Blair Conklin in third.  It doesn’t get much closer than that.

Nonetheless it was quite an accomplishment for the reigning UST champion putting him on solid footing in the points standings having won two out of the last three events.  He will remain followed closely by Blair Conklin in overall points as Morgan Just builds the points foundation he will need if he hopes to take it all away as the season progresses.  Brandon Sears slashed and aired his way to fourth place placing, his first solid result of the season which he no doubt intends to build upon.

Bill Bryan, the winningest skimboarder of all time narrowly missed a slot in the finals in a stacked semi final but was still skimming like a champ putting together a very technical performance.  Teddy Vlassis proved yet again that he one of the best competitive skimboarders on the planet barely getting edged out by Brandon Sears in one of many heats that was effectively too close to call.

The pros got started early on Sunday morning under overcast skies but good skim conditions.  The low tide going high with a more consistent 3′-4′ south swell provided probably the best conditions of the event for the quarter final heats.  As the tide came up and a little wind picked up the conditions deteriorated a slightly, but that just made the athletes that much hungrier and the skimming that much more dynamic.

All in all it was a great event but you dont have to take my word for it.  Head on over the the live webcast page and you can watch all the pro heats on demand from the comfort of your living room!

The 2012 Top 8

  1. Sam Stinnett
  2. Morgan Just
  3. Blair Conklin
  4. Brandon Sears
  5. Bill Bryan
  6. Teddy Vlassis
  7. Paulo Prietto
  8. Tim Fulton